AS1 Governing Council – Annual Meeting

Wednesday, 6/23/21-via Zoom

Attendees: Hal Basdekis, Val Basdekis, Cathy Bertasi, Estelle Best, Katy Biron, Andrew Bristol, Joy Close, Debby Cohen, Stafford Cohen, Kim Corfman, Stan Corfman, Sally Easter (Jr), Sally Easter (Sr), Ann Etter, Lisa Gresser, Jane Griffiths, Liz Hendricks, Holly Hunnicut, Annie Lenox, Connie Lentz, Jeff Loewer, Jill Loewer, Keith Knox, Jon Krejci, Susan O'Loughlin, Philip Pierce, Laurie Powsner, Shelly Powsner, Gabrielle Prochaska, Janice Prochaska, Jim Prochaska, Jim Sersich, Steve Skrovan, Ben Soule, Annie Steward, Dale Stewart, Scott Stewart, Deb Walton, Tom Walton, Deb Weiner, Louise Williams, Nancy Wood, Wanda Wood, David Yermack, Elizabeth Yermack, Larry Yermack

Opening: This is a closed, non-recorded zoom meeting to choose the chairs for 2023, since we are not holding a meeting in person, on island, this year.

Update from Chairs: looking forward to heading to the island! New music deck outside of Marshman, in the Stone Village. Currently have 141 people registered. Also accepting partial week applications. With a high vaccination rate some restrictions may be relaxed. Policies are already being changes based on CDC/state guidelines. There will be some places where vaccinated folks can congregate inside without masks. Everything is changing quickly.

Waiving the On Island Meeting: Bylaws say that we are required to meet on the island each summer. If we want to have this meeting in place of that one, then we need to put a waiver in place. Keith motioned that we waive this, Jeff seconded it.

Discussion: none

Vote: 40 in favor, 1 against

Waiving Attendance Requirement for Chairs Elect: Motion was made by Keith to waive the requirement that, to be nominated for 2023 Chairs Elect, candidates must be in attendance at the 2021 ASI Conference. Motion was seconded.

Discussion: While motion was generally supported, it was suggested that nominees who are attending the conference get an extra boost because 'the island needs us this year'.

Vote: 32 in favor, 8 against, 1 abstention

Review of Guidelines for Eligible Chairs

Review of Voting Procedures

Election of 2023 Chairs

Minutes submitted by Katy Biron